top of page

How To Love Your Dark-Porcelain

Updated: Sep 22, 2020

This one is for all my pale and dark-haired princesses!

This is to pick up off of the last blog I wrote called: “The Aryan Standard of Beauty and the Devaluation of Europeans with Darker Features” and what it may result in. In the midst of this whole standard of beauty being put at the forefront, how do we deal with this? What must we do to overcome this obsession with blonde hair and tanned skin? Or ruby red tresses? And how do we overcome the issues that we face?


In an article called "14 Struggles Only Brunettes Cnan Really Understand" it states:


"Unfortunately, for many brunettes, the more contrast there is between your dark hair and light skin, the more Twilight-y the situation becomes."

-Blair Waldorf


Why do we devalue this? How is this unfortunate? Why can't we be proud of this, too? We have this societal belief, not just with the Aryan neo-pagans, that tanned skin and blonde or red hair is the ideal or standard of beauty. As white women, we are conditioned to believe that having ‘all light features’ are the way we are supposed to be. I’m not saying that those with all light features or tanned skin are not beautiful. I’m merely pointing out that there isn’t just one kind of beautiful.


Growing up I hated my dark hair shade because I thought that the only way for a girl to be pretty is if she had all light features and light hair. Why? I ran across some really biased people that painted dark hair and fair skin as this negative trait. I also noticed how my siblings would be fawned over by strangers while I was ignored. I began to question why my siblings were given this special treatment, but not me. I’d get the backhand comments such as: “Your hair is nice, too”. That was the confirmation. I then wanted to be light haired, like my siblings, and tanned, but I couldn’t help but to look in the mirror and see that I did not possess those traits my siblings were praised for. I dreamed of that curly cotton top look my sister had. That was only the beginning of the struggle.

As I got older, I would receive negative comments from my peers on my appearance, whether it was about my hair for simply being too dark or being too pale, suggesting that I should be envious of those who had blonde hair and tanned features. “You’re jealous of that blonde aren’t you?” “Why don’t you go get a tan?” “You look like a ghost”. This can take a toll on a girl’s self-esteem, right away. You begin to think that your dark hair shade and your fair skin is not beautiful.

Is brown hair and brown eyes considered pretty?
Is brown hair and brown eyes considered pretty?

Just yesterday, I posted a few pictures on a European celebration page; of men, women and children with blonde hair and brown eyes and noted what a beautiful combination it was. Yes, I got some good feedback. But I also received some negative comments from some people who were following the page. They stated: “Brown is the colour literally EVERYONE else in the world has”, while failing to realize that brown hair shades and even brown eyes come in various different shades. And each are unique. Some of them are a little more widespread than others, but it can look very attractive when paired with pale skin. And it can look exquisite!

Disappointed
He doesn't appreciate me? I'm walking away from this person.

I don’t know where all of this: “Brown hair or eyes with light skin is bad” ideal came from, but who are you to tell someone that what they were born with is not beautiful? If you have something that is set apart from everyone else, that’s great. Everyone has qualities that set them apart. Everything is not all about color, people.

It's their problem, not yours.
Not everyone will like your hair. It's their problem, not yours.

I also have received comments in the past such as "default isn't unique” or “staying indoors is not cool,” “you need to get a tan on those dang legs” etc. after I have made a conscious decision to embrace my dark-porcelain. The same prejudices these people express against non-white women, they express against white women with darker hair or Europeans with brown eyes. And they put the entire brunt of ‘bias’ on their shoulders. Now they wonder why I stopped trying to pander to them and their criticism. They wonder why I stopped bleaching/lightening my hair to try and fit into this mold on what “they” ‘value more’, took a good look in the mirror and ask myself, why am I doing this? Why don’t they like me for me? I’m going to stop doing that. I’m going to stop trying to ‘prove my worth’ to these people.

Many of us have been through this. We've been so ingrained to thinking, the lighter someone is; the more beautiful they are. Or that we must be sun-kissed in order to look good. That is what you should be. So I started a brunette page celebrating and uplifting dark-porcelains. And was shocked at how much support this new page has gotten. Over 2000 followers already! There are so many men (and women) who think dark chocolate hair and fair skin are attractive! This is not to suggest that “outside validation” is something that you should only care about in life. It’s not healthy to only focus on how other people are perceiving you, either. And you should validate yourself as well. But this is something that has helped me to realize that having dark shiny hair with porcelain skin was an ok thing. Not only that, but a beautiful thing!


Now that I have realized the value of what had been gifted to me, I actually now prefer my naturally healthy shiny dark hair shade over the frizzed, damaged and unmanageable hair I had as a result of bleaching it for years, or my skin being burned in the sun. You look at some of my previous pictures and my hair is all bleached up, fried up and absolutely destroyed. All this high maintenance trouble to get lighter hair color? It had been years since I have seen my natural hair color, and I mean; actually saw it! And now that my dark brown hair shade has grown out, I feel like myself again! Now I love it more than ever before! So care for it as if it is the most coveted hair in the world, because it truly is a gift, as any other.


The point of this, even if you do have light hair or whether you don’t, whether you be tanned, fair skinned or even dark skinned, who is anyone to tell you that what you were born with is not beautiful?


For much of the history of the English language, dark hair and pale skin have been viewed as the epitome of beauty. Women are often praised for their snow white skin and raven dark hair in the works of Shakespeare, Donne, and Eliot. It seems relatively recently that English-speaking cultures have diverged from this view of beauty.

And now that I have peeled away this pre-conceived, brought to you by Aryanism; now I have learned to value myself, embrace what I was born with and even learn to love it. People take note of it when you do it. I’ve even had people commenting on it telling me how I need to change myself because my hair is too bloody common or generic or that I need to get tan on my legs. I will no longer be responding to these negative comments. And my advice to all you dark-porcelains out there is to ignore these people. Who are they to tell you whether your hair is beautiful or not? Whether your skin is beautiful or not? I found that embracing our natural hair. Why? The peeling away of these pre-conceived ideas about beauty standards is what is necessary to thrive and to win.


You can be beautiful and have fair skin. You can be beautiful and have dark hair. You can be confident and win with your natural look. You can love your dark porcelain!

Create your own beauty standard, and keep it pale with hair as dark as night!



My Dark Porcelain is My Super-Power! #BestOfBothWorlds


If you love this blog, please subscribe!

104 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page