top of page

5 secrets I wish I knew as a teenager with light and dark features.

Updated: Dec 18, 2018


I wish I had red hair

If you’ve read the “Life is too short to have boring hair” blog, you might know this little secret about me: I bleached my hair red for a few years. I wanted to cover up every strand of dark brown that I could. I failed most of the time because dark brown hair roots show up with vengeance! Another drawback is that the moment you bleach your dark shiny locks, you’ll end up with brittle dry and damaged hair that is in constant need of maintenance. And who want’s that? It’s a constant headache to cover up dark roots, and regular root touch ups are expensive. Dark brown strands are relentless and very hard to maintain coverage. Maybe this is nature’s way of telling brunettes they should never bleach their hair?


For those thinking of bleaching your natural brown locks, you won’t be fooling anyone. When I tell people about my story, I always get the “Your hair is so beautiful. Why would you want to do that?” reaction. I tell myself the same thing. My mother let me experiment with my hair at a young age and I don’t blame her. I have no one else to blame but myself. I did it because I lacked confidence with my natural hair, and worked so hard to hide the true identity I possessed. This was only in attempt to ‘stand out above the rest’ and to give me the courage to stand up to those who would criticize me for my snow white skin and really dark hair.


What I didn’t realize was that I already possessed a type of beauty that would make me stand out. Today, I am more confident than ever before. It’s because of my dark hair/light skin that I am who I am. I wouldn’t trade it for anything else! Thanx to my father and Grandmother, for giving me these beautiful luscious locks and my fair complexion! Thank you to my younger self who helped me realized importance of accepting yourself. Thanks be to my hair for never giving up on me.


Here are the five things I would have told my “younger (red-head) self.”


1. Dark Brown HAIR and fair skin IS COOL and exotic.

Despite the fact that they may hit you with the phrase “Brown hair is the most common hair in the world” they are forgetting about the other aspects of you that make you stand out. Yes, it most certainly is cool, especially when paired with light skin. It’s also awesome, extraordinary, amazing, remarkable, special and a beautiful combination that you won’t see in most parts of the world.


2. IT’S OKAY TO BE labeled as the epitome of beauty, in history.

Dark hair/light skin has been seen as the epitome of beauty throughout European history and around the globe. It wasn’t until recent history that it changed in the ‘gentlemen prefer blondes’ era. I had the hardest time with this in my growing up years, especially since all my friends were blonde with tan skin. I’m here to tell you it’s okay. Being the ‘fair skinned brunette’ possessing both light skin and dark hair just means you stand out and that’s a beautiful thing.


3. Ditch the light hair tanned skin beauty ideal.

For a while, I thought everyone disliked pale skin and dark hair. In a world where tanned skin is so elevated, people would always ask me: "Why are you so white? You need a freagin tan or something!" I got called names such as Caspar or white cracker, or told that I looked ghostly or washed out. At first, I felt very insecure and tried so hard to get a tan and lighten my hair at the same time. I had my days when I would spend time in the sun just to try and get that look, and sulk because it wouldn't work out too well for me. But today, I have realized something. We aren't as common as some would say. From that point, I have learned to accept myself and love my skin and hair color. I have met many people that love it! I see pale women and think they are beautiful too and I always wondered why everyone is being pressured to get a tan. Now, I’m telling you to love your fair skin and embrace your freckles (if you have them).


4. TREAT YOUR dark brown HAIR WITH CARE.

I loved (okay, obsessed with) my hair light and bright bleached red hair in middle and high school. I wanted to cover up every dark strand I could. On top of that I used heating tools to straighten out my damaged hair, worsening the frizz that went with the bleaching. But I have found that bleached hair can never compare to the beauty of dark shiny locks that glisten in the sun. Now that my natural dark brown hair has grown out, I’ve begun to experiment with ways I can enhance the shine of my hair. And now I am loving every bit of the results. Keep your hair shiny with Apple cider vinegar and sunblock for your hair!


5. LAUGH at the critics.

I don’t know about you, but I did get criticized by jealous blondes and reds for having those rich dark locks that were oh so healthy! I was also told: "Brunettes are a dime a dozen." And the list goes on. But I found it empowering to embrace your dark hair because it’s the opposite of what they say we have to be in order to be valued. I look back and think to myself, “I should have listened to my mother and just laughed at them.” My advice to all you brunette girls out there is to laugh. Laugh because those critics are jealous. Laugh because your dark brown hair and light skin are a beautiful combination that makes you stand out above the rest. Laugh because you have the most luscious and shiny hair color in the world! #ProudBrunette #ShinyHair #LightSkin


Embrace what you were born with, because it's beautiful!

It's all about the brunette! 🙌 #classy #darkfeatures #nohate #lovebrowneyes #LoveBlueEyes #LoveGreenEyes #brunettes 👸🏻😍👌


388 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page